Things not meant to be….

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “But No Cigar.”

I am at a very bad place in my life right now.My heart is heavy , my stomach is churned and the only part of my body that can seek solace are my fingers typing away in search of a way  leading to a thought which may finally make me feel that yes ..yes things do work out.But do they?

I have been a loner all my life. I have never felt that I belong and I feel luck feels the same way about me.It evades me. I have heard people say that positive thinking helps but I am not sure. I was a victim of ragging. Torture,fear,trapped,unheard and unseen.All the things I felt. Six months of hell , it seemed like an eternity.Tears came as salt water and dried up as my mind was under the invasion of a drought. I don’t know if it was as bad as it seemed at the time but it really felt so.

 I had chosen to be far away from home,to get my whiff of freedom.Adulthood is tough or should I say that the transition is tough.It doesn’t come with a word of caution saying ,WATCH OUT..YOU ARE ABOUT TO ENTER THE REALM OF THE HORRIFIC AND  THE HAYWIRE!!! Well I somehow escaped my hell and joined my new alma mater  a year later. I can’t say it was all hunky dory but I can  definitely say it was better.I finally graduated with flying colors.

So here’s what I learned..things happen.There is no escape.There may be moments of tranquility but those moments are fleeting.One needs to find within oneself that one thing which keeps you going. The world around you may be crumbling but you have  to just keep holding on..holding onto something that really matters.Its not going to be easy.There will be things that will try and tumble you and you will probably fall.But you know what,it doesn’t matter.Nobody can bog you down unless you want to be bogged down even terrible choices.You can either live through it or turn it around.Living through it can make you stronger and turning it around can make you happy.In the end being stronger or happier ,both help. Nothing is permanent.The pain subsides.Everything is in your hands. Afterall its all a matter of choice.

Leave a Reply

