In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Whoa!.”

The word ‘whoa’ is my woe right now. As I am trying to think of an experience worth mentioning, there are a number of things which are running through my mind.Do I write about the time I walked all the way back home from school holding a monkey’s hand,the time I was stuck in a train for five days straight or the time when I thought God had come to meet me in a dream.

But finally I decided to go with none of it.I was reminded of an incident which happened pretty recently. I was on my way back from the ATM with my friends . As we were about to reach the gate of our hostel ,I heard a voice hollering at us from behind. We turned around only to find a fruit vendor .He said,”Here take some grapes with you.You don’t have to pay.Please come.” We were all dumbstruck.Not knowing what to do, we walked towards him anyway.As we made our way towards him I kept thinking,”Wait ..what?whoa! He doesn’t want us to pay?There’s no catch?That’s not right.”

At this point I can say that neither I nor did my friends have a clue as to how this gentleman’s SELFLESS deed was to be requited with words or otherwise.We thanked him and his wife profusely and in return all he said was,” Just keep me in your prayers.” I am drawing a blank as to what we said or did next.

For me,this was a truly surreal experience.Being a pessimist by nature ,such an act of random kindness left me speechless.I mean where in the world do you find people who want nothing but your prayers? I mean I know there are people out there who have devoted their lives to humanity but this was the first time where I saw someone a person who could frankly do better with some ‘receiving’ was ‘giving’ away a part of his livelihood.Rarely have I come across people who want nothing in return like my parents.

I felt overwhelmed and blessed.At that moment I truly felt like a child of God.The fruit vendor will probably never know the kind of impact he had on us.But right now,right here I want to thank him from the bottom of my heart for making me realize  that goodness costs nothing and that all you need is a big heart and not a big bank balance 🙂

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

